In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

By Loïc Chauveau on 02.10.2018 at 2:00 p.m.

As in humans, the chimpanzees who have the best control over their attitude are also the ones with the best scores on intelligence tests.

In monkeys, intelligence is linked to self-control.

A source of electricity inspired by the electric eel

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

By recreating the structure of electric eel cells with hydrogels, researchers have developed a flexible and biocompatible electrical source.

With a voltage of 600 volts and a current of 1 ampere, the electric shocks sent by the eel Eletrophorus Electricus can kill a man or paralyze a horse. Thomas Schroeder, of the University of Michigan, USA and his collaborators succeeded in replicating the mechanism behind these currents by developing an assembly of electricity-generating hydrogels inspired by the cells of the electric organ of the eel.

The mental capacities of animals vary between species and individuals and do not depend on the size of their brains! Several scientific studies affirm it: while hundreds of millions of years of evolution separate us from the octopus, its brain nevertheless allows it to have an excellent memory, a logical reasoning, the capacities of deduction, of innovation, of game, learning, intentions and emotions. Researchers have also shown that animals that have long been judged for no reason possess sophisticated skills. Fish, for example, use tools and cooperate.

The planet captain

Jacques Yves Cousteau was preparing humanity for what the uncontrolled demographic explosion would be for our future ... we were in 1992 on the TV show the hour of truth. Deforestation, soil desertification, extinction of animal species, everything was already contributing to fear of a too uncertain future. Soils strewn with garbage cans in the open air, earth suffocated by toxic products, which tried to spit out the surplus. The Indians, numbering 700 million in 1992, had high hopes of the Ganges. Its more than doubtful waters satiated the inhabitants at first, then praying to purify their sick bodies of ingested bacteria. One and a half billion people did not have access to drinking water. One might have thought that this story had passed, the men become reasonable.

2018: humans always multiply, resources are exhausted. This state of affairs is only more dramatic today, despite the disinformation of certain media which obscure the mortal dangers of humanity which is self-destructing.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

The strongest fabric in the world is spider thread

This is an important discovery: researchers have been trying to copy the spider's thread for over a century. It is stronger than steel and as flexible as rubber.

It interests the military or firefighters to make resistant clothing. Doctors, too: miniaturized heart implants have already been produced. This wire could be used to make biodegradable electronic components so replace metal - it would be more environmentally friendly. But here it is, it is a difficult animal to domesticate: spiders do not like promiscuity and devour each other. A German company, AMsilk , has succeeded in having a bacterium produce silk by introducing a spider gene into it; the bacteria manage to secrete the protein that is used to make the thread.

Plants have a sixth sense!

According to the founder of plant neurobiology, author of "The Intelligence of Plants", these are as sensitive as they are essential.

Stefano Mancuso is the founder of plant neurobiology. On his desk in the laboratory at the University of Florence, a zamioculcas and a dracaena are struggling to grow between the piles of books. Beware, however, of denying them the dignity of intelligent organizations. Stefano Mancuso was the first to demonstrate that plants are endowed with the five senses, capable of solving an infinity of problems, of transforming themselves into military strategists or seductresses. Associated with many laboratories around the world, the neurobiologist is considered as a "world changer" by the American press.

Understanding animal intelligence , with the great ethologist and biologist Frans de Waal

In his book: "Are we too stupid to understand the intelligence of animals" (Edition Les Liens qui Libéré), he tells about the ability to design tools of great apes and chimpanzees, the self-awareness of an elephant who is recognized in a mirror, facial recognition in sheep, the cooperation of orcas to hunt seals ... Some features that we find in the human species.

BIRDS KNOWN FOR THEIR INTELLIGENCE

Crows, like jays and crows, are part of the corvidae family, birds known for their exceptional intelligence. For example, the jay can store food in anticipation of future food shortages instead of eating it immediately. Crows have a social behavior similar to that of humans, capable of empathy by, for example, simulating the cries of other animals in specific situations ! A new study published in Science provides a surprising illustration of the intelligence of these animals.

The animals are far from it. The latest advances could end human "supremacy".

3447-a-japanese-macaque-takes-a-rest-on-

By imitating humans, the Japanese macaque shows that it knows how to adapt to its time. If this behavior may be surprising, mimicry is part of the education of this Asian monkey.

REUTERS / Yuya Shino

The multiple forms of animal intelligence

We could multiply the examples. In recent years, animal science has continued to progress, after - it must be admitted - centuries of human arrogance, when the animal was in our eyes only a brainless beast. Thanks to the contributions of genetics , cognitive sciences and even evolution specialists, we now know that animal intelligence takes many forms, and that it is not the prerogative of so-called superior species ( primates, marine mammals ...).

So, if animals speak, calculate, learn, innovate, what do we have left? Self-awareness ? The altruistic impulse? The feeling of emotions? Again, the latest scientific findings have shown that animals experience sophisticated mental states.

A luminous mushroom!
champignon-bionique.jpg

A fungus with cyanobacteria and graphene printed on it is able to generate a small electric current. This is the discovery of American researchers from the Stevens Technological Institute (New Jersey).

This psychedelic-looking bionic mushroom could belong to the fictional world of Alice in Wonderland or Mario Bros. It is, however, very real. This fungus capable of producing electricity was developed by researchers at the Stevens Institute of Technology (New Jersey). Their project was published in the nanotechnology monthly journal The Nano Letters on November 7.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

To allow the fungus to become a source of energy, scientists create an artificial symbiosis. They print an ink composed of cyanobacteria on the cap of the fungus. The latter provides an ideal habitat for cyanobacteria, and thus allows them to stay alive longer. The bacteria form the green spiral shown in the photo. When the fungus is illuminated, they begin their photosynthesis and produce electrons. These are recovered by the electronic network, formed by graphene nanoribbons also printed on the mushroom.

Par Loïc Chauveau le 10.02.2018 à 14h00

 

Comme chez l’homme, les chimpanzés qui contrôlent le mieux leur attitude sont aussi ceux qui ont les meilleurs scores aux tests d’intelligence.

Chez les singes, l'intelligence est liée au contrôle de soi.

En recréant la structure des cellules des anguilles électriques avec des hydrogels, des chercheurs ont mis au point une source électrique souple et biocompatible.

Avec une tension de 600 volts et un courant de 1 ampère, les décharges électriques envoyées par l’anguille Eletrophorus Electricus peuvent tuer un homme ou paralyser un cheval. Thomas Schroeder, de l’université du Michigan, aux États-Unis et ses collaborateurs ont réussi à reproduire le mécanisme à l'origine de ces courants en mettant au point un assemblage d’hydrogels générateur d’électricité inspiré par les cellules de l'organe électrique de l’anguille.

Les capacités mentales des animaux varient selon les espèces et les individus et ne dépendent pas de la taille de leur cerveau ! Plusieurs études scientifiques l’affirment : alors que des centaines de millions d’années d’évolution nous sépare du poulpe, son cerveau lui permet pourtant d’avoir une excellente mémoire, un raisonnement logique, des capacités de déduction, d’innovation, de jeu, d’apprentissage, des intentions et des émotions. Les chercheurs ont aussi montré que des animaux jugés pendant longtemps sans raison possèdent des compétences sophistiquées. Les poissons par exemple utilisent des outils et coopèrent.

Le capitaine planète

Jacques Yves Cousteau préparait l´humanité à ce que serait l´explosion démographique non contrôlée pour notre avenir...on était en 1992 dans l´émission l´Heure de la vérité. Déforestation, désertification des sols, extinction des espèces animales, tout concourait déjà à prendre peur d´un futur trop incertain. Sols jonchés de poubelles à l´air libre, terre étouffée par des produits toxiques, qui tentait de recracher le surplus. Les Indiens au nombre de 700 millions en 1992 espéraient beaucoup du Gange. Ses eaux plus que douteuses rassasiaient les habitants dans un premier temps, priant ensuite pour purifier leurs corps malades des bactéries ingérées.  Un milliard et demi de personnes n´avait pas accès à l´eau potable.  On aurait pû penser que cette histoire fusse passée, les hommes devenus raisonnables.

2018 : les humains toujours se multiplient, les ressources s´epuisent. Cet état des lieux n´en est que plus dramatique aujourd´hui,  malgré la désinformation de certains médias qui occultent les dangers mortels de l´humanité qui s´autodétruit.

Le tissu le plus solide du monde est en fil d'araignée

C´est une découverte importante : ça fait plus d'un siècle que des chercheurs essaient de copier le fil d'araignée. Il est plus solide que l'acier et aussi souple que le caoutchouc. 

Il intéresse les militaires ou les pompiers pour faire des vêtements résistants. Les médecins, aussi : des implants cardiaques miniaturisés ont déjà été produits. Ce fil pourrait servir à fabriquer des composants électroniques biodégradables donc remplacer le métal - ce serait plus écologique. Seulement voilà, c'est un animal difficile à domestiquer : les araignées n'aiment pas la promiscuité et se dévorent entre elles. Une entreprise allemande, AMsilk, a réussi à faire produire de la soie par une bactérie, en lui introduisant un gêne d'araignée ; la bactérie arrive à secréter la protéine qui sert à faire le fil.

Les plantes ont un sixième sens !

Selon le fondateur de la neurobiologie végétale, auteur de « L'Intelligence des plantes », celles-ci sont aussi sensibles qu'indispensables.

Stefano Mancuso est le fondateur de la neurobiologie végétale. Sur son bureau du laboratoire de l'université de Florence, un zamioculcas et un dracaena ont du mal à pousser entre les piles de livres. Gare pourtant à leur nier une dignité d'organismes intelligents. Stefano Mancuso fut le premier à démontrer que les plantes sont dotées des cinq sens, capables de résoudre une infinité de problèmes, de se transformer en stratèges militaires ou en séductrices. Associé à de nombreux laboratoires à travers le monde, le neurobiologiste est considéré comme un « changeur du monde » par la presse américaine.

Comprendre l'intelligence animale, avec le grand éthologue et biologiste Frans de Waal

Dans son  livre : "Sommes-nous trop bêtes pour comprendre l'intelligence des animaux" (Edition Les Liens qui Libèrent), il raconte la capacité de concevoir des outils des grands singes et des chimpanzés, la conscience de soi d'une éléphante qui se reconnait dans un miroir, la reconnaissance faciale chez les moutons, la coopération des orques pour chasser le phoque... Quelques traits que l'on retrouve chez l'espèce humaine.

DES OISEAUX RÉPUTÉS POUR LEUR INTELLIGENCE

Les corbeaux tout comme les geais ou les corneilles font partie de la famille des corvidés, des oiseaux réputés pour leur intelligence exceptionnelle. Le geai des chênes peut par exemple stocker de la nourriture en prévision des futures périodes de disette au lieu de la manger immédiatement. Les corbeaux ont un comportement social similaire à celui des humains, capables d´empathie en simulant par exemple les cris d´autres animaux dans des situations spécifiques ! Une nouvelle étude publiée dans Science vient illustrer de manière assez étonnante l’intelligence de ces animaux.

Les bêtes sont loin de l'être. Les dernières avancées pourraient mettre fin à la "suprématie" humaine.

En imitant les humains, le macaque japonais montre qu'il sait s'adapter à son époque. Si ce comportement peut surprendre, le mimétisme fait partie de l'éducation de ce singe d'Asie.

REUTERS/Yuya Shino

Les formes multiples de l'intelligence animale

On pourrait multiplier les exemples. Ces dernières années, la science des animaux n'a cessé de progresser, après -il faut le reconnaître- des siècles d'arrogance humaine, où l'animal n'était à nos yeux qu'une bête sans cervelle. Grâce aux apports de la génétique, des sciences cognitives ou encore des spécialistes de l'évolution, on sait aujourd'hui que l'intelligence animale revêt de multiples formes, et qu'elle n'est pas l'apanage des espèces dites supérieures (primates, mammifères marins...).  

Alors, si les bêtes parlent, calculent, apprennent, innovent, que nous reste-t-il ? La conscience de soi ? L'élan altruiste ? Le ressenti des émotions ? Là encore, les dernières découvertes de la science ont montré que les animaux connaissent des états mentaux sophistiqués.  

Un champignon lumineux !

Un champignon sur lequel sont imprimés des cyanobactéries et du graphène est capable de générer un petit courant électrique. C’est la découverte de chercheurs américains de l’Institut technologique Stevens (New Jersey). 

Ce champignon bionique à l’allure psychédélique pourrait appartenir au monde fictif d’Alice au pays des merveilles ou de Mario Bros. Il est pourtant bien réel. Ce fongus capable de produire de l’électricité a été mis au point par les chercheurs de l’Institut de technologie Stevens (New Jersey). Leur projet a été publié dans la revue mensuelle dédiée aux nanotechnologies The Nano Letters le 7 novembre.

Pour permettre au champignon de devenir source d’énergie, les scientifiques créent une symbiose artificielle. Ils impriment une encre composée de cyanobactéries sur la coiffe du champignon. Ce dernier fournit un habitat idéal aux cyanobactéries, et leur permet ainsi de rester en vie plus longtemps. Les bactéries forment la spirale verte que l’on voit sur la photo. Lorsque le champignon est éclairé, elles commencent leur photosynthèse et produisent des électrons. Ces derniers sont récupérés par le réseau électronique, formé par des nanorubans de graphène également imprimés sur le champignon.